top of page
JN Chaney Author.jpg

Author Spotlight

JN has a Master’s of Fine Arts in creative writing and fancies himself quite the Super Mario Brother’s fan. He served four years in the Air Force and then decided to pursue writing full time. 

JN Chaney can be found all over the internet and throughout the Indie author community. He migrates back and forth between Avon Park, Florida and Las Vegas, Nevada. I’m a bit partial to JN’s work, as he is my son and has pressed me for years to return to writing, which I have.

JN’s debut novel, The Amber Project, which turned into a four-book series called the Variant Saga, is a dystopian Sci-fi series that takes the reader on a wild ride through multi-universes and begins in the year 2157 after a mysterious gas known as Variant spreads across the globe killing or mutating most organic life. The main character is one of the genetically engineered children, who is both human and part Variant. He has been trained to endure the harsh conditions of the planet he desires to understand. After years of preparation, Terry thinks he knows what to expect, but the reality is far stranger than anything he can imagine—and what he will become is far more dangerous.

Variant Saga in order:

The Amber Project

Transient Echoes

Hope Everlasting

The Vernal Memory

JN is well-known for his Renegade Universe. Currently a 16-book series, of which, Renegade Star is the first. His works are available in both print and audio and offered by Podium books and Audible and Amazon Kindle.


Check out all of his books at 

JN Chaney has also co-authored many books with several other authors, Scott Moon, Jonathan Yanez, Christopher Hopper, Jia Shen, Molly Lerma, and Terry Maggert and these can also be found on Amazon.

When JN isn’t writing or gaming, you can connect with him on 



JN Chaney's Renegade Readers Facebook group

bottom of page